The great start

by chuckgaowestminster

Social-media-for-public-relations1-644x320After having a splendid holiday, coming back to study has been a real tough move for me.

However, having finished the first week of second semester, I found the class schedule is very attractive as well as challenging for me.  The course arrangement is obviously far more intensive than first semester, no need to mention that I’m seeking a part-time internship, which make this situation even worse.

Anyway, A good news for the optional module laying in the fact that we chose the course we want, in other words, the course we taking are to our taste.

At the beginning, I was had a big trouble to choose optional module between 2 of 5, because Cooperate Communication, Digital PR, Consumer PR even fashion PR are all my cup of tea. But fortunately, I was informed that Digital PR and Consumer PR was going to merge this year. Then the choice became clear to me, fashion PR is the least I want among them, so I give it up.

I’d like now talking about some thoughts of Consumer PR. Consumer PR is my favourite sector of PR, as I had great interest of social media, and running a lifestyle or fast moving consumer goods (FMCG) company has always been in my long-term career plan. Broadly speaking, not like marketing, Consumer PR regard consumer as audience uses different communication tools to engaging them. Even though the endgame is always to drive sales, but Consumer PR usually considered to be more subtle and sophisticated than marketing, and its unique selling point (USP) is to change attitudes and behaviour indirectly. Moreover, compare with marketing, Consumer PR is usually more using two-way symmetric communication nowadays, and the practitioners are transfer their attention into social media.

The first class is about history of modern consumption. This is the field I was interested on my graduate, I had read some book about this to leant consumer behaviour, such as La société de consummation (Jean Baudrillard), Consumer Culture and Postmodernism (Mike Featherstone), and a lot of Chinese publication. Also, as I was major my second B.A degree in psychology, I’m always trying to code consumer behaviour from the angle of subliminal or subconscious psychology, so when Jon talked about Packard’s eight Compelling Needs and Maslow’s Needs Hierarchy, admittedly, I was really enticed.

